Home > Building a Better World > Pancakes, Closets, and Keeping it Real.

Pancakes, Closets, and Keeping it Real.

Pancakes, Closets, and keeping it real…

.

 

That’s a little of what you’ll find in the video I’m sharing. There are a lot of “golden nuggets” in this TEDx talk by Ash Beckham titled Coming Out of Your Closet, that I think trying to write too much about them would just mask what you might pick up, or pick out, on your own. So, I’m not inclined to try to tell you what I think. You’ll see.

I will tell you that around 3:25-4:30, I’m impressed by Ms. Beckham’s very concise description of something I have tried to explain to and discuss with people for years.

Hard is not relative. Hard is hard (…) We need to stop ranking our hard against everyone else’s hard (…) and just commiserate on the fact that we all have hard.

 

 

.

I know the thoughts that struck me the most in this video. I’m curious to see what points made an impression on everyone else. Let’s be real.

Simply Put – We could all be a lot better if we stopped comparing the size of our closets and started being real with one another.

 

  1. Anonymous
    November 8, 2013 at 12:54 PM

    Thought is was a great speech! It was very inspiring and true. Loved how well it was put into perspective about things being “hard” for each and every person and how people should stop trying to compare their version of “hard” with other people’s versions of “hard!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

