#13DOG

Join in The Pittsburgh Foundation’s Pittsburgh Gives 2013 Day of Giving

.

13DOG

As many of my readers may know, I get excited when TPF’s Day of Giving(DOG) comes to town. I have always viewed this as a spectacular way to bring together the collective community and show that all donations, no matter how big or small, make an impact. When we choose to support the organizations that have meaning to us, they have the resources to be meaningful to many others.

With that said, for the past two years, I have asked for requests by area non-profits, from Allegheny and Westmoreland counties that participate in this massive online fundraiser, to be included in my DOG profile posts. I donated my time to interview and do a write-up on any non-profits that wanted assistance in spreading the word about what they do. You can find older posts for 2011 and 2012 under these tags. Make sure to click for older entries to see all of them:

This year, my schedule has worked against me, so I was unable to put out the same call. I have no worries though, because our non-profits have gotten the hang of using social media to share what they do. Kudos on that! Instead, I decided that if I receive their email updates all year, I will share the email campaign for #13DOG and suggest them to you, if you haven’t picked one to support. So, be looking for posts over the next 6 days about some of my favorite non-profits.

The Pittsburgh Foundation/Pittsburgh Gives asked What Day Will It Be For You? (see above image) For me, the answer, including donors, recipients, those impacted by the npo’s work, and Yinzers alike is, A Day of “Celebrating Who We Are.”  I’m very fortunate that I’ve been asked to do a little roving reporting that day. Can’t wait to see where I end up!

To check out all the nonprofit orgs for Day of Giving, go to Pittsburgh Gives.org.

I encourage you to share your answer for what day it will be for you in the comments. Bloggers and other media types are more than welcome to include a link to their Day of Giving stories for other non-profits in the comments section of this post, too.

Simply Put- Let your dogs out and get excited for the 2013 Pittsburgh Gives Day of Giving.

.

update (9/30/13)

#13DOG posts will be added to the following list as they are completed:

ToonSeum- DOG Days at the ToonSeum

Women’s Center and Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh- A Day of Survivors

Reading is FUNdamental Pittsburgh- RIF, Ruff, Ruff

East End Cooperative Ministry- Families and Full Tummies – EECM

Steeltown Entertainment – An Entertaining DOG

Pittsburgh Association for the Education of Young Children (PAEYC) – Educating the pups on DOG

Art Expression – Expressive DOG

New Sun Rising – A Great Day for Some Sun

  1. October 3, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    From Yinzpiration- A little Day of Giving Contest… http://www.yinzpiration.com/blog/introducing-connectornoons-plus-fun-contest

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

