Plunge Your Pockets

.

Friends, can you spare a buck? Plunge into your pockets, purses, couches, cup holders, and wallets right now so I can make the Plunge and support Special Olympics!

.

Okay, I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I hate the cold. I mean HATE it. The idea of being in cold water thrills me none.

These people?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

They’re crazy!

But these people?

.

.

They make it worth it to be “freezin’ for a reason.”

So, while I was going to be Too Chicken to Plunge, I’m now all in and going to freeze my toucas off  in the 2012 Pittsburgh Polar Plunge on Sunday December 2. The best part? My two oldest children (12 and 14) are doing it with me and we will get chilly with our nutty team – some friends who are seasoned plungers, some newbies like us. My kids really took off with this and I am so proud of them for talking to teachers and friends about Special Olympics.

Last year, I attended the Pittsburgh Plunge and captured video and pictures of the event for Pittsburgh On Video. I really can’t believe it’s taken me this long to jump in and get off the sidelines. From my volunteer days in college with Special Olympics, through the work I’ve done using music therapy with people with intellectual disabilities – who have so positively affected my life, I’m glad I have crazy friends to talk me into participating.

So, friends, help a newbie out. Please take a moment to help me meet (or hopefully, exceed) my goal and support this great event for a wonderful cause.  If I don’t get at least $50 I won’t be eligible to take part in the Plunge. I’d put in the minimum donation myself, but things are a little tight right now. I might be crazy, but I know there are some awesome people out there who will sponsor me. I think I can raise enough money in just 5 days. But, I need YOU! I’d be super-excited if everyone who reads this will be a fan and head to my Plunge page to donate a dollar (or more:-) and  aid my effort to support Special Olympics. Leave a comment to let me know or share a story about someone special who is your reason for plunging your pockets.

Check out or join the Steel Shivers team – see ya on Sunday! And, for hunters – I have a special incentive to gain your donations. Check out my get a buck, give a buck opportunity.

Part of me still doesn’t want to do it , but I have to admit, this does look like fun…

.

Simply Put – Jumping in to an icy cold river won’t seem so bad if I’ve got the donations to motivate me. Thanks!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 28, 2012 at 11:17 AM

What do you think?

