Home > Weekly Round Up > Food for Thought: On Religion, Veterans, and ALS

Food for Thought: On Religion, Veterans, and ALS

Articles and video for thought this week.

I like this first one because it is by a clergy member. Answer the 10 questions to see if your religious freedom is at risk. Check back and tell me what you think.

How to Determine If Your Religious Liberty Is Being Threatened in Just 10 Quick Questions

by Rev. Emily C. Heath

The next article I’m sharing is disturbing to me on many levels.

I’ve known people who work with veterans. I hear all the time that the VA fails vets on a regular basis. This article pretty much sums it up for me. The only people in the VA that don’t understand it’s failing vets are the ones that run the VA. Those who provide services and seek services know all too well that denials, red tape, long waits and more are part of coming home from serving your country. Did you know that every day there are 17,000 calls to the VA Suicide Hotline? There is a staff of around 2 dozen to answer them. What was most troubling to me was the comment section.

How do people end up with this kind of opinion?

These people wanted this military job; it was their choice just like any other employment. Maybe the military recruiters ought to stress all the potential risks rather than the fluff. Are these military personnel really that gullible?

Read it and tell me what you think.

Obama Extends Help for Veterans With Mental Health Problems

by David Wood

Many of you know I’ve been helping to promote the ALS Connections contest. In a previous post I described how ALS came to be part of my life. We lost Chris’s mom in July after having spent a wonderful week in her favorite place – Disney World, together as a family with her. It is a wonderful, yet bittersweet memory. I watched this video earlier this week and the speaker really describes what everyone needs to know about ALS. I wanted to share it with you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 7, 2012 at 6:54 PM

What do you think?

