Home > Opinions and Perceptions, Volunteers > Top Reasons NOT to Help Non-Profit Orgs

Top Reasons NOT to Help Non-Profit Orgs

Top 11 reasons NOT to support non-profit orgs:

.

    1. I’d much rather spend time complaining about how awful things are in the world instead of helping others fix it.
    2. I never need/take/want help from anyone, so therefore no one deserves mine either.
    3. Helping people only makes them more needy and I don’t want to be any part of enabling bad behavior.
    4. I can find a job, put food on the table, give my kids the things they need. Those slackers should get off their lazy butts.
    5. There’s not enough time or money to make a difference anyway, so I’d rather not give any of what I have.
    6. I can’t volunteer around dirty, smelly degenerates.
    7. I can’t volunteer. What if my neighbors think I do it to be a show-off or am needy too?
    8. Non-profits should be able to help others without always bugging me for my money and things and time.
    9. I don’t mind closing my eyes to people who are abused, go hungry, shiver in the cold, or suffer injustice as long as my family is taken care of.
    10. I don’t have skills or anything anyone needs. Why would I think I’m important enough to volunteer or promote a cause?
    11. Someone else will do it.


Angry with me yet?  Good.  Because I didn’t make this up. These are things people think and say all the time.

Simply Put- Are these points valid? If yes, why?  If no, why not? What information can you share to prove or overcome these opinions?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

