Home > Community Stories > Hazy, Hawt and Humid in Pittsburgh

Hazy, Hawt and Humid in Pittsburgh

So, the neatest, most interesting, coolest thing happened to me yesterday in Pittsburgh. The weather wasn’t the only thing that was really hot in the city.

I met The Overtones.

Who are The Overtones, you say?

Hawt In Pittsburgh

Just the most amazing mix of doo-wop 50’s/60’s style with a modern beat and an amazing Barbershop-type harmonizing yet pop-inspired sound.

I was working with my son’s day care and was with them on a field trip. (They’re doing transportation this month so we rode the incline and subway.) We get to the top of the Duquesne Incline and there are 5 super-cool looking dudes, a camera guy and a small entourage of people with them. And me, being the ever curious one asks, “So, what are you guys doing up here?”

And with a British accent, the young man responds that they are doing a documentary type film. That he is part of the band.  He said they’d just come into Pittsburgh the night before and were on the way to San Fransisco the next day.  They were just the sweetest group of guys and very nicely agreed to take pictures with our group of kids (can’t show you those- photo releases don’t extend to my blog) and gave them all high fives after the pic.

The Overtones

Of course, I came home and checked their website. I fell in love with their sound. So did my 4 and 6 and 10 year-old sons and almost 13 year-old daughter.  They are on Facebook and Twitter as well. I don’t know what rock I have been living under that I just found out about these guys, but luck be a lady, I’m glad I was at the top of the Incline at that moment!

Check out their sound:

Simply Put- I’m inclined to love these guys. Rock on, Overtones.

Categories: Community Stories
  1. Anonymous
    August 11, 2013 at 12:49 PM

    Thank you so much for sharing your special moment with everyone.You are so right these 5 guys are true gentlemen .Greetings from Berlin Germany .
    Claudia ,Admin at The Overtones Germany

    • September 27, 2013 at 11:47 AM

      You’re welcome! They were great and I was happy to have been in the right place at the right time to meet them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

