Home > Building a Better World > Re:solution

Re:solution

I hate New Year’s resolutions for the same reasons other people hate them. Two weeks into January and I will have forgotten exactly what that thing was I tried to do/stop doing/change or why I thought it was going to work to begin with.

So, this year instead of doing a resolution I’m writing a memo to myself. Re:solution. Yes, there is a colon in that word. Instead of resolving to enact a change that won’t last, I am going to become a change that can resolve.  I will be the solution.

I still believe we can change the world one person at a time. I believe I have potential as a better person in your world.  Maybe we can only change the lives of those around us or quite possibly we can serve as the example that takes hold of the world.

The plan this week as we roll into the new year is to focus on steps to solving a problem. Big or small. A personal problem, the local community’s or the world’s. Maybe one for each, if I am feeling ambitious. If I am feeling confident, I might even let you in on some of my plans in future posts.  If you have some ideas you’d like to share, I’d love to hear them.

I can think of so many things around me that need some fixing.  I am sure you can, too. Join me. Let’s build a better world by skipping the idea of a resolution and making time to find ways that we can personally contribute to our family, to our workplace, to those in need, to small shifts in the cultural or social perceptions that hold us back as humans.  Too many times, I hear or read others ideas of all that is wrong around us. But, all they do is state the problem over and over, complaining but never offering a solution. Sometimes I think that this constant stream of negativity and obnoxious overstatement exacerbates the core issues more than the initial reasons that the problems exist.

Wouldn’t it be more powerful to tell others how we plan on solving whatever we think needs dealt with,  rather than being the historian or pulpit preacher that tells you everything you ever needed to know about issue X–except what to do about it?

Simply Put-  No more resolutions, just  reasons to be a solution.

  1. December 29, 2010 at 9:01 PM

    I’m very guilty of making New Year’s resolutions and hardly ever following through with them.

    Your way definitely sounds better!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

